5 Advantages of Being in a Sorority

I am beyond proud to say that I am a member of the Alpha Sigma Tau sorority. This organization is already shaping me into a better individual. This is one of the many advantages of being a part of the Greek community.

Never a Dull Moment

With 100 plus sisters you can imagine that more times than not, we are laughing when we are together. there is never a time that I find myself bored on the weekends. I can always find something to do with my sisters. Whether we plan a fun night out on the town, a low-key movie night, or a study session I’m always in good company.

Academic Support

All Greek sororities or fraternities have set GPA requirements that must be met in order to remain in the organization. This sets the bar high for all members and keeps everyone accountable for their grades. Another academic benefit is that with all the members there has  to be someone who has taken the same class as you. Members that have the same majors or have taken the same classes can help each other out.

Gain Leadership Experience

There are many roles one can take in a sorority. In my sorority for example, there are a lot of positions that can be held. I currently hold two positions. I have learned that with these positions comes a lot of responsibilities. As a position holder, you are expected to be a leader in whatever “department” your position belongs to. From the minute I took my position, I held the power to make decisions for the organization. Those who hold positions in sororities or fraternities earn a great deal of leadership experience. Leadership experience that can be used throughout one’s life.

Held to a Higher Standard

I have seen first hand that individuals in Greek life are held to a higher standard. We are expected to uphold our organization’s individual values that make us who we are. Everywhere you go, everything you do is a representation of your organization. Members of Greek life must live to uphold a good reputation for their organization. Those who hinder the reputation of their organization will most likely be removed. Thus, giving members an incentive to act appropriately.

Networking

Being a part of the Greek community gives so many opportunities for networking. Anyone who belongs to these organizations not only increases their network from within their own organization, but also from members of other organizations. If anyone needs a job there is always someone in the Greek community that knows of something available. That being just one example of the many benefits of having a network.

Being in a sorority has helped me in so many ways. I have benefited greatly from this organization. I have gained academic, leadership, and networking advantages through this experience. Above all, I have made lifelong friendships.

img_1037

 

Leave a comment